Peace In The Moment

My morning didn’t start out so peaceful.  No coffee (we ran out!), eyes that just didn’t want to stay open, and a handful of passages from Zechariah and Revelation (By the way, books of prophecy are best read when you are fully awake).

I tried praying…my head was just too full of stuff.  What to do today?  Figure out sales tax?  Finish my last two Grammy bags?  Work on inventory?  Oh, yeah, I have some errands to run today, too, like going to the grocery store to buy coffee…Did any of this even matter in the whole eternal grand scheme of things anyway?  When my head gets like this, I’ve found that the best thing to do is to go out and take a walk.

It’s 5:45 a.m., pitch black, and 21 degrees outside…perfect for a ‘clear-my-head’ walk.  Right?  Not!  Those swirling thoughts followed me outside, penetrating the three layers of winter-wear, neck muff, wool hat, snow boots, and ski gloves that I had donned in order to ward off the chill.  Then the cramp in my left big toe started…cramp, cramp, cramp, with each step.  Ignoring…ouch!  Stretching, walking…ouch!  Whatever!

Trying to pray, jumbled thoughts, cramping toe…not working…ahhh!  Now I’ve got a blister on my heel!  That’s what I get for wearing short socks and going for a walk in snow boots.  “Lord, I’m trying to ‘be still and know that You are God,’ but I’m really struggling here.”  So much for the walk idea.

I get back to my driveway and slow my pace down.  It’s a long driveway, makes for plenty of time to cool down before heading inside.  The colors of the sunrise are starting to peak over the eastern horizon.  The light cloud cover has drifted away from the crescent moon, still bright in the sky.  Almost to the house now.  I stop a moment to take in the scenery.  A few twinkling stars still making an appearance.

I did something then, kinda crazy, but it was good.  I spotted a non-snowy, clear patch and just laid down on my back, right there in the middle of the driveway in the wee moments of the day.  The perfect position for taking in the view of the sky…my favorite view to remind me just how big our God is…how in control He is…how little my worries really are…

Peace.  Pure, calm, soothing peace.  ‘Taste and see that the Lord is good!’

I’ve still got my day ahead of me, nothing has changed there, but my perspective of it has definitely improved.  Moment by moment, in His strength, following His direction, and, ultimately, for the purpose of brining Him all glory and praise!

“Praise the Lord, O my soul, and all that is within me.  Praise the Lord!” – Psalm 103:1

courtesy of Sara Picard of Beyond The Lens

Leave a Reply

