Sewing Day!

It’s sewing day!!!  I know, I know…I was just sewing a couple of days ago.  But there’s something different about today.  I  can’t quite put my finger on it, but maybe it’s got to do with attitude.

Between special orders for Christmas and the lack of routine while we take a couple of weeks off from school, I feel like I haven’t done any really productive sewing in a long while.  I’ve spent a lot of time this week working the business, but comparatively little time at my machine.  But today…today my machine and I are going to spend some good, quality time together.  And I can’t wait!

I got thinking about sewing this morning as I was having my quiet time.  Sewing is basically the backbone of my business.  If I don’t sew, I’ve got nothing to sell, no reason to be networking with folks in shops or on-line, and definitely no reason to be contacting the great state of Maine and informing them that they will have another opportunity to make money off of me (I just filed for my sales and use license the other day, yuck!).  No sewing, no sales…it’s pretty much that simple.

Then an interesting parallel struck me.  Time spent at my sewing machine is a lot like time spent in prayer and bible-reading.  Very much like the purposelessness of Hand-Me-Down Designs without sewing, is my life without my time with the Lord.  It is during my quiet time that I discover (or re-discover) true purpose, gain direction, find strength.  Honestly, just ask my kids…if I have a lousy quiet time – or none at all – well, let’s just say, it’s not a pretty picture.  Christ is my life-line and I am truly not good for anything without Him.

Maybe that’s what’s different about today…the sweet time spent with the Lord this morning has got me ready to face the day, and the time at my machine will begin to re-stock those empty Etsy shelves.  Who knows, maybe I’ll have a new listing later on.  You’ll just have to check the shop this evening to find out! 🙂

Be blessed!

m

p.s.  To kick the day off, my daughter and I put together this fun treasury in Etsy.  Check it out!

http://www.etsy.com/treasury/4d1c837507cf8eefefeefbca/the-teriffic-time-traveling-tardis

2 thoughts on “Sewing Day!

  1. Absolutely! I consider my time at my crafts table/sewing machine time spent with the Great Creator.It is then that I am doing what He made me to do.
    When I don’t have that time I feel something is missing from my life-and it is!
    I just got my tax form from the state (although they want me to pay online).Well-“give to Ceasar what is Ceasar’s”,right? 🙂

  2. handmedowndesigns

    LOL…that’s about the only way we can look and taxes and grin, right!

    And I am truly grateful for the creativity and ability the Lord has given me.

    Sew on, my friend, sew on!

Leave a Reply

