“Whatever you do…”

“Whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him.”  Colossians 3:17 (ESV)

This is the theme verse for the new sermon series that my pastor started yesterday.  Everything in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ.  Everything. Everything?…

Then, this morning, I was reading in the book of Malachi about how the people of God were offering imperfect gifts to the Lord, blind, lame, mauled animals instead of the cream of the crop, ‘lamb without blemish,’ and thinking it was good enough.  That’s not what God says…”I have no pleasure in you, says the Lord of hosts, and I will not accept an offering from your hand.” (Malachi 1:10)

That got me thinking (sometimes I think a little too much, but, bear with me here).  Everything.  We are supposed to be doing everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, and God will not accept anything less than the best.  Well, that thought led me to thinking about my sewing, the product I offer up to my customers.  When it really comes down to it, each and every item I offer needs to be my best, because I am offering it to the Lord first and foremost.  If it’s not good enough for Him, I may as well not even bother.

Now, I’m not suggesting that the Lord has any interest in using my products.  I have no delusions that He is in the market for a new wallet or a snazzy bag to carry stuff around in.  What I am suggesting is that I need to put top-notch, quality care into each product I make.  Because each product, whether the customer knows it or not, is my testimony to the excellence of my Lord and His worth in my life.  And this heart attitude is what I need to carry with me through every moment of my life.

But, of course, the Lord’s intent is so much bigger than just the quality I put into my bags.  He cares most about the quality I put into daily life, caring for my family, interacting with other people, ministering to the needs of others.  You see, God is in the people business, and I need to remember that ‘everything‘ includes how I care for and reach out to the folks He brings into my life.

So today, with His help, I plan on sewing my best, loving my best, giving my best, not to gain any praise for myself, but as my act of praise and worship of  the Lord, my Savior, Redeemer, Provider and Comforter, God of all creation.  “Worthy are You, our Lord and God, to receive glory and honor and power, for You created all things, and by Your will they existed and were created!”  Revelation 4:11


4 thoughts on ““Whatever you do…”

  1. Amen! May the New Year find us all doing our best for Christ!!

  2. Always the BEST for our God…
    Fabulously stated, thank you for sharing your thoughts…
    Monika

  3. What a precious gift, to start our days with our Lord! I feel especially blessed in that Malaika is my precious and dear daughter as well as my “sister in Christ”…no mother could ask for more.

  4. Great post to remind us that everything should be done with our very best abilities!

Leave a Reply

