Here We Go Again!

I have to admit something.  I struggle with an addiction to affirmation.  I love being well thought of, and sometimes I love it too much.   And now, to add one more avenue of struggle for me, the internet world has all sorts of ways to track how many “hits” or “clicks” or “likes” or all sorts of other attention that my blog, Facebook page, and Etsy shop get on a daily basis.

I share this with you for two reasons.  Firstly, confession is an important step toward repentance and change, and brings with it a certain amount of accountability to a situation.  And secondly, an explanation…if you try to reach me on the computer today, post comments to the blog, or even place an order on Etsy (wistful thinking), I apologize ahead of time, I will not be viewing those things until the morrow.

Why the sudden cessation of cyber socializing?  Let me tell you a bit about my day yesterday.

Get up, spend some time in the Word (good start so far!), write my blog, check my e-mail, check house e-mail, check blog site stats, check Etsy site stats, check three different Etsy team pages and post links to my blog, eat, shower, dress.  Check my e-mail, check blog site stats, check Etsy site stats, check Etsy team pages for comments to my post, make a phone call to a friend.  Check my e-mail, check blog site stats, check Etsy site stats, check Etsy team pages for comments to my post, do some sewing, do school stuff with my son.  Check my e-mail, check blog site stats, check Etsy site stats, check Etsy team pages for comments to my post…you get the point.

Now, I did actually accomplish a fair amount yesterday.  I made a trip to the post office and hardware store (I broke hubby’s favorite shovel this past summer and he’s been missing it).  I even got several new items made and posted a couple to my shop.  I made chilli for dinner and fresh bread (I love my bread machine!).  Nothing was truly neglected because of my constant progress peeping, but by the end of the day it started dawning on me that my frequent trips to the computer, no matter how short, were indicative of an upcoming problem if I didn’t take immediate action.

Hence the change today….today I am fasting from internet activity.  Today I am trusting the Lord to handle things without my constant supervision.  Today I am going to remember, every time I get the urge to check the computer, that this business is the Lord’s, and today is NOT computer day, it’s sewing day, and I’d better follow instructions or I’m heading for disappointment.

So, my friends, I pray you have a wonderful day.  I’ll check in again (but not until tomorrow) and hopefully with a godly perspective and priority adjustment.

Be blessed!

m

3 thoughts on “Here We Go Again!

  1. […] secondly, a little update in regards to the internet-fast that I took on Tuesday of this week (see http://handmedowndesigns.wordpress.com/2011/01/04/here-we-go-again/).  Of course, the following day (O.K., later that same evening:-) I checked my e-mail and my stats […]

  2. Amen! Good thoughts!
    luvncrafts.etsy

  3. […] secondly, a little update in regards to the internet-fast that I took on Tuesday of this week.  Of course, the following day (O.K., later that same […]

Leave a Reply

