Pitiful Pittance

Good morning!  I’m hoping you’re looking forward to what the Lord’s got planned for today as much as I am.  I’m so grateful that “His mercies are new every morning!” (Lamentations 3:23)  Each day is a fresh, new start…and, man, do I need a fresh start!

In our small group we’re doing a study on deep, genuine spiritual revival, and one of the key places we need to start is by addressing our sin, calling it what it is, and feeling about it the way God feels about it.

Sin.  It’s an ugly word…it should be 4 letters long; it’s one of those words that you don’t like to say out loud too often.  It’s a lot like a plantar wart.  If you don’t take care of it, dig it out, even if it means making it bleed, it’s not going away, in fact, it’s just gonna get bigger and bigger and bigger…yuck!

Anyway…our instructor is so very helpful in clarifying exactly what sin looks like in our lives, and today’s lesson brought me to a place where I had to admit that one of the bigger sin issues in my life is my priority to relationships with others…or should I say, lack thereof?

I’ll admit it.  If it were up to me, I’d be happy as a clam, buried in my own little world, doing my own little projects, occupied by my own personal amusements.  One of the things that has saved me from drowning in my own little stew of self-ness is that I have children.  Offspring have a way of planting themselves in the deepest part of your heart and not letting you ignore the fact that they need to be  cared for.  But, I digress!

I took a few minutes this morning to try to remember how I invested in the life of another yesterday.  It took about 10 minutes, but I finally found something!  I sent a text to a friend just to say ‘hello.’  Wow!  How humiliating!  One text!  Really?  Is that all I can muster?  Lord, help me!

Okay, I’m sure if I had someone else evaluate my day, there are probably a handful of others-centered moments that were scattered throughout my day, but, if I’m going to be honest with myself, I have to admit that this area is definitely one I need the Lord’s forgiveness and intervention with.  Did I mention that I didn’t send out ANY Christmas cards this year?  There wasn’t any reason not to, except that I just didn’t bother to take the time.  Ouch, that hurts!

I think I need to go and do a little more soul digging; I just have to get rid of that ‘wart!’…And I’m looking forward to going to my friend’s house today to give a sewing lesson!  What a great place to start.  A fresh start, a new day!  This is gonna be good!  Thank You, Lord!

4 thoughts on “Pitiful Pittance

  1. Ouch…my warts are hurtin’!

  2. uhhhhh….what happens, when I start locating warts for removal, I can’t count that high? I guess I’ll just have to start at the top and work my way down. (This may take awhile)

  3. Thanks for sahring this – it’s something I have been praying about lately as well – the being so involved in personal projects and so on – that I may be missing out on some things the Lord has planned for me in the way of living for Him and others. He does have His ways of getting my attention diverted from me, though, and I find it’s always easier if I listen and obey early instead of late.

  4. handmedowndesigns

    How true, Sherri! Definitely obeying earlier than later is a lesson I’ve had to learn the hard way. While I don’t rejoice that others can relate to my personal sin problem, there is some comfort in knowing that I’m not the only one! Praying for both of us to have ‘eyes to see, and ears to hear’ what the Lord has planned from day to day.

Leave a Reply

