Yay! Featured Friend Friday!

I’m pretty excited about today’s Featured Friend, but before I get there, I’ve got a couple of things I want to mention.  Firstly…it is my daughter’s 18th birthday today (happy birthday, Sara!).  That’s pretty exciting…and a little scary, too, when it occurred to me the other day that my daughter is now as old as I was when my husband and I were first dating!

And secondly, a little update in regards to the internet-fast that I took on Tuesday of this week.  Of course, the following day (O.K., later that same evening:-) I checked my e-mail and my stats for the day.  And I’ve got to tell you…it’s the weirdest thing…I have absolutely NO STATS for my blog that day.  None.  This is now my twelfth day of blogging and Tuesday is the ONLY day that there are NO views listed.  Even last weekend when I didn’t post anything there were some of you who checked in anyway.  I’m chalking it up to a “God-thing” because I KNOW that at least two of you read my post that day (my two faithful followers…Mom and Carol!).  I told my husband about it and he reminded me, “I guess you just don’t need to know your stats for that day.”  He’s right.  And that blank day of stats is a good daily reminder to me that, as much as I do love the fact that folks read these posts, it’s really not important if, who, or how many do.

And now…drum roll, please…my Featured Friend!  Shanna Tice of ‘The Makings of Shanna Tice’.

I first became aware of Shanna and her shop when I got a package in the mail from her after Christmas.  Our Maine Team on Etsy decided to do a Secret Santa gift swap.  We all sent out a small gift to an unknowing team member (that was really fun, by the way!).   When I opened my package I found a lovely pair of pale blue (one of my favorite colors) crochet earings, and an amazing paper-&-felt bird pin.

Here’s what Shanna has to say about herself in her Etsy bio (I hope she doesn’t mind that I’m copying and pasting)…

“I love art! I am addicted to my crochet hook, but I regularly find myself daydreaming about many ways to make art and craft regularly. I couldn’t decide on a major while attending the Maine College of Art, which lead to a double major in Graphic Design and Photography. I couldn’t decide then which art field was most important to me, so don’t ask me to choose now!

I am a stay at home mom who does arts and crafts in every spare moment I have. I love my job and wouldn’t change things for the world!

There are many inspirations for my work like the art of Dr. Seuss, Cathy Nichols, Degas, folk art, and currently many Etsians as well.

All of my work is hand crafted with great care. I am a bit obsessive compulsive about making sure everything I make is as close to perfect as it can get. There is always much thought, attention to detail, and precision that goes into everything I make for either a customer, friend or family member.”

Two things brought Shanna to mind last night when I was trying to decide who my Featured Friend would be today.  The first is that pin she gave me.  She doesn’t know it, but it was perfect!  The day I received it I had just finished making a “Merry-Christmas-to-me” bag, and the colors of that bird were a perfect  accent.  I love it!  Here’s a picture of the whole bag so you can see just how amazing that little bird looks:

And the other thing that prompted me to feature Shanna was the sweet e-mail she sent me yesterday…I foresee another special friendship blooming!

So, I hope you’ll take some time today and visit Shanna’s shop….I wonder if she makes that owl hat in adult size?

Be blessed!

3 thoughts on “Yay! Featured Friend Friday!

  1. Nice to “meet” Shanna! Cute shop!
    christie (luvncrafts.etsy)

  2. LOL! Thanks so much! I appreciate the attention! Very well written and I am honored to be a part of your blog- it looks great. You are definitely right about the pin- it does match perfectly! (who knew?!)

    And yes…I make the owl hats in adult sizes…I have made 4 adult hats already (8 child’s)- I had NO idea what a owl hat frenzy I would find myself in. I was very blessed this holiday season with such an interest in them!

    Thanks again 🙂
    Shanna Tice

  3. I love Shanna’s shop! Particularly this –

    http://www.etsy.com/listing/64994449/purple-gray-paper-flower-embellishment

    Thank you for introducing our team to her.
    ♥♥♥
    Sue

Leave a Reply

