It’s Been a While…

Wow!  I guess it’s been a bit since I’ve given this little blog some attention.  Since the blessing of being at the farmer’s market (which went VERY well, thank You, Lord!), it feels like I’ve been going non stop! 

But now I’d like to share a few of the things that have been keeping me busy.  Firstly, after doing so fantastically at the market, I’ve got a ton of re-stocking to do.  My list of things to replace is quite extensive, but I’ve still got time before The BIG THAW in April.  By the way, soon, very soon, I’ll be posting a link to our brandy new, professionally designed event poster…very excited about that!

And then there was The Special Order.  It deserves capital letters because it was quite an endeavor.  After over a week of consultations via Etsy messaging, tons of photos, and a couple of days worth of sewing I would like to present…Kelly’s Bag!

 

I’m pretty proud of this creation.  It’s big, cheerful, and versatile.  I’ve actually had a request for another one, but I’m certain this time it will be far less time-consuming.

Another thing that I’ve been playing with recently is my product photography.  A couple of weeks ago I asked some of my Etsy friends for pointers and critiques of my shop’s photos.  Thank you, Maine Team, for some great advice!  After considering their suggestions, I made some major changes to the look of my shop.  I’ve started using two specific methods…white board photography, and model photography.

I enlisted the help of my talented daughter and amateur photographer, Sara, in getting my model shots.  We took a trip to Main Street with my bags and her super-duper fancy camera and did a photo shoot.  So fun!  The two of us took turns being both the photographer and the model.  It was a beautiful, sunny day and we got some great shots.  See for yourself!

 

 

 

I even got my son, Christopher, to help me model some of my coin purses:

 

 

Now, I don’t always have my children at my disposal, so I have to make do with other techniques.  One of these has been using a big piece of white mat board as my backdrop and trying to use as much natural lighting as possible.  I’ve had a fair amount of success with this method, although I’m still learning about what types of outdoor lighting works best, what time of day, clear sky, overcast sky, etc., etc.  Suffice it to say, I have a lot of learning to do, but I’m having fun!  Here’s an example of this type of photography.  This picture was taken about mid-morning on a slightly foggy, thinly overcast day:

 

And then, this morning, I decided that it was time to try a technique called a light box….except without the lights.  I took it outside in the 9 degree, morning sunshine instead.  First I’ll show you a sample picture:

 

I like the look, but I think I need to try it at a later, brighter time of day.  Anyway, I wanted to show you what this set-up looks like; it was pretty fun to work with.

 

I can stand or lay the item on the bottom of the box if I want, or I can suspend it using my official Product Suspension Implement (aka: a wreath hanger:-) )

 

So, as you can see, I’ve been busy, and having a blast while I’ve been at it.  And now it’s time to stop playing with my photography and get back to doing some more sewing!

Be blessed!

m

3 thoughts on “It’s Been a While…

  1. Looks great, Malaika!

    For your light box – are the left and right sides made with vellum? I’d suggest cutting out some substantial windows and taping vellum to the box. The idea is to get diffused light from both sides so that you’re product is lit evenly.

    I think you should sell those on Etsy – sellers are always looking for ways to make inexpensive light boxes!

  2. […] other news…the saga of ‘The Special Order’ continues!  I am very happy to report that the proud, new owner of the big bag is very happy with […]

  3. […] other news…the saga of ‘The Special Order’ continues!  I am very happy to report that the proud, new owner of the big bag is very happy with […]

Leave a Reply

