Busy, Busy!

It’s been an interesting few days, and it all started with a snow storm.

Image by Kristy Hall, licensed by Creative Commons

Last Friday we had a BIG snow storm, huge, like 8-10 inches of heavy, wet snow.  It was crazy!  But there was a bright side…my wonderful hubby, Gerard, had no work for the day and agreed to help me out a bit.  I brought down all my material, set up a work area for him and handed him my rotary cutter.  By the end of the day he had cut out so many projects for me that I can’t even begin to guess how long it will take me to make them all!  He is definitely my hero; he saved me hours upon hours of work!  He’s even got them all sorted into labeled plastic freezer bags.  He truly is a blessing from the Lord!  We decided that he was going to be my official business/warehouse manager.  It’s so nice to have his support.

And I’m going to have to get busy sewing all those projects.  I’ve got three selling events coming up within the next 7 weeks, and one of them is a biggie!

The first event will be at the end of March.  I’ve had this idea percolating in the back of my mind for some time now…home parties.  You know, the type were you have the hostess invite all her friends, make some yummy goodies, and let you set up your wares to sell in her home.  While I like the idea, I didn’t like the feel of intruding into someone else’s home just so I could peddle my wares.  Then I remembered my friends, Jeff and Donna Hebert, who are trying to raise money to adopt.  I called Donna up and talked to her about my idea.  I’d like to hold this event and donate a portion of the proceeds to their adoption fund.  She was enthusiastic about the idea, so we decided to give it a try.  If it goes well, I think I’ll need to pray about offering this to other folks as a fund rasing idea.

Then, mid April, there’s The BIG THAW!  We’re working on finalizing the list of vendors…boy, was that hard!  So many great folks to choose from and just not enough space.  More details to come, I promise.  This event is going to be crazy great!  I’m so excited…it’s going to be in a great venue and be full of fantastic products.  Maine really has some very talented people!

Two weeks later is the big one…the USM Craft Fair.  This is my biggest show yet.  For a reasonable price I will be given a roomy 12×12 foot space to fill with all my denim delights.  I must admit, I’m a bit nervous about this one.  That’s A LOT of space!  In true business manager style, Gerard’s input on this was,  “GET TO WORK!  You’ve got a lot of sewing to do!  Did you see how big those spaces are?  You need to be able to fill that!”  He’s right, and I’m feeling up to the challenge…I think…  How does the scripture go?  “I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.”  Guess I’ll just do what I always try to do…do my best and let the Lord take care of the rest!

In other news…the saga of ‘The Special Order’ continues!  I am very happy to report that the proud, new owner of the big bag is very happy with her purchase (whew!).  I took the liberty of posting pictures of my creation on my Facebook page and in my Etsy Maine Team group and it garnered some interest.  The mother of a friend of mine contacted me and asked me to make her a bag.  Now, there’s something I need you to understand about this particular bag…it’s big, I mean, really BIG.  Bigger than most pairs of pants.  That means that I have to be very creative and careful about piecing together panels of denim when I’m making it.  It’s a great bag, but it’s time and material consuming.  But I can’t say no to a special request, especially for a friend.  So, yesterday, I completed another Special Order:

 

I didn’t post this one anywhere but my Etsy shop so that my friend could pay for it, but somehow one of my Maine Teamers spotted it…can you guess what’s next?  Yup, I’ve got another Special Order!  I had told Gerard that I wasn’t going to add this bag as standard item to my shop because of how labor-intensive it is, but I’ve had more interest in this bag in the past three weeks than any other product I sell!  Kinda cool!

All that being said, I suppose I ought to get to my sewing machine.  In the eloquent words of my loving hubby, “GET TO WORK!”

Be blessed!

m

4 thoughts on “Busy, Busy!

  1. hmmmm……really big….how big. I’ve “out grown” my forget-me-not bag and might just want one of these!

  2. I agree – do our best and let the Lord take care of the rest!

  3. You are truly blessed!

    ♥♥♥
    Sue

Leave a Reply

