I’ve Been Found!

O.K., I wasn’t really lost….well, I used to be, but now I’m found in Christ…but that’s another story.  Anyway, I’ve been found by Google!  YAY!

Back at the beginning of February, at the advice of many successful Etsy folks, I started working on my shop’s tags…those wonderful little words that the internet world associates you with.  One blog I read kept repeating the fact that “Google is like a 2-year old child, you have to tell it something over and over again before it ‘gets’ it.”  So I chose a few key words, recycled, denim, Maine, etc., and I plugged them into all the key spots that Google scans periodically in order to help web-surfers find me.  And it worked!  Google scans my shop about once a month, and after this month’s scan, my little shop started coming up much closer to the top of the search list than ever before!  YAY!  O.K., maybe it’s only exciting to me, but I’m pretty happy about it.

 I recently added a new item to my shop…coasters:

Aren’t they cute?  I make them out of the left-over scraps of denim, so some of them will be mix-n-match sets.

The binding of these little beauties has been a bit of a challenge for me.  I really haven’t done much quilting or edging in all of my sewing endeavors.  I’ve managed to make it work, but the whole time I was thinking, “There’s got to be a better way.”  So, this week, when I went to a little sewing group that I recently joined, I asked the ladies for some advice.  They are all quilters and were quite happy to share their knowledge.  And now I know how to do beautiful mitered corners and joint seams with much less effort than I’ve been exerting.  Can’t wait to try my next set!

But today will be devoted to making my third Big Bag in as many weeks.  The amount of material is still crazy, but at least the construction is getting easier…especially when I find a pair of wide-legged men’s jeans with a 34″ in-seam.  Of course, hubby’s got whole drawer full of 34″ in-seams, but I don’t think he’d appreciate me helping myself. 🙂

Have a blessed day!

m

2 thoughts on “I’ve Been Found!

  1. Mmm, just started working on the ‘SEO’ google analytics thing myself…maybe we can swap some info, I feel very clueless still with it all… great post M 🙂

  2. Really like the denim coasters – very nice! Also, good work with your shop tags and Google 😮

Leave a Reply

