Snapshots and Sonograms

Have you ever used one of those disposable film cameras?  You know, the ones you find placed on each table at your best friend’s wedding, the ones you take all those goofy shots with, having fun, making faces, never really knowing how the pictures come out, or really caring about getting a great shot.  They’re tons of fun, but, in the end, not very good at getting a good picture.

That’s how I’ve been doing life recently.  I’ve been having tons of fun coming up with new ideas for things to make with my denim, spending hours at my machine cranking out my creations, enjoying the creativity, enjoying the manufacturing, enjoying the end product…but in the end, just having fun in the process without taking the time to get that “really good shot.”

So today, it’s time for the big guns…I’m pulling out the sonogram.  O.K., not a real one, but it’s high time to slow down, lie down, and take the time to get a good, close, deep look at what’s going on internally.

I remember being pregnant with both of my kids and loving being able to see their tiny hands and feet, and best of all, that miniature heart, pumping for all it was worth.  Miracles happening, deep inside, hidden from the naked eye, only seen by taking a deep, penetrating look with different ‘eyes,’ the machine in this case.

While I get a lot of enjoyment out of coming up with new ideas, and excitement at seeing those ideas come to life, these feelings are only temporary.  It’s not long before the edge wears off, before it’s time to come up with a different twist, a new design.

I was consumed this morning with yet another new idea when I heard it…that ‘still, small voice’ of the Lord.  I was reminded that lasting joy, peace, and satisfaction come only from Him.  In fact, all of it comes from Him in the first place, right down to the very ideas that I get so excited about.  The creativity, the ability to make the idea work, the materials and tools to do the job…all of it, from Him.

Thanks for the spiritual sonogram, Lord.

Bless the Lord, O my soul, and all that is within me, bless His holy name!

Bless the Lord, O my soul, and forget not all His benefits.

Psalm 103:1-2

3 thoughts on “Snapshots and Sonograms

  1. I’ve been thinking about this lately, too — getting so excited about things as they’re happening but not really reflecting on what the ‘bigger picture’ (or the inner picture, as the case may be) is.

    I had a bit of an epiphany the other day, comparing two very different ways of launching a business. One involves lots of behind-the-scenes planning, designing, prototypes, then one big LAUNCH when the product line is ready.

    The other is the way I’ve done it (we’ve done it), having a very public, blog-documented process with lots of ‘on the job’ improvements to our shops and product lines.

    I’m not sure which I like better or which I would do if I ever started a new business, but realizing the difference was huge for me! I’m pretty sure I’m never going to have 10k saved up to ‘seed’ a business so I think I’d do it all over again the same way! LOL.

    Thanks for your thoughts, M.

    -A.

  2. Awww I love that way of looking at it.

  3. Really enjoy your insights 😮

Leave a Reply

