Traveling Bag

I’ve been taking a little break from sewing this week.  My inventory is sufficient for my upcoming needs, and I just plain needed a break.  I’ve been focusing on photography and listing new items in my shop instead.  But now the week is almost over, I’ve got a small craft fair tomorrow, and then I’m leaving town with hubby and a few friends for a training conference.

This is the first time I’ve been traveling since I started my little business, and I’m realizing that I’ve become a bag snob…it just doesn’t seem right to leave town toting a bag if it’s not  a Hand-Me-Down Designs original.  Besides, I haven’t made myself a new bag in at least a couple of months.  A trip is as good a reason as any for a new bag, right?

So, here it is…sweet, simple, and roomy…inspired by a pattern from a new book I bought myself, The Bag-Making Bible by Lisa Lam:

What do you think?  Should I add this one to my shop?  I’d love to hear your input!

And now I’m off to mail out an order before I start packing!

Be blessed!

m

7 thoughts on “Traveling Bag

  1. Malaika's Mom

    I love it! The only thing I would ask is that you make the shoulder straps just a little longer…..for those of us with chubby arms…..

  2. Love it! Like your mom mentioned, maybe make the straps just a bit longer. 🙂

  3. handmedowndesigns

    Good thought. If I were to do that I might have to make the bag itself a little shorter so that is doesn’t drag on the ground when you’re not wearing it on your soulder.

  4. Super fun and unique design! Its a yes on the bag 🙂

    And I can’t imagine what else could me more appropriate than self promotion by accessorizing! I wouldn’t have it any other way!

  5. Lovely bag! Yes, lengthen the straps just a snidge and put it in your shop. I can relate to the reference on self-promotion – my Etsy shop sells cell phone charms and right now I don’t have one on my phone – appalling 😮 Maybe I will remedy that today before we go out to Mother’s Day dinner!

  6. looks great! very cute design!

  7. handmedowndesigns

    Thanks! It’s really light-weight and actually pretty durable.

    And, Mom & Donna, I made one for my shop with longer handles 🙂

Leave a Reply

