Going Vintage

So I started the day expecting to sit at my sewing machine all day and pump out projects like there was no tomorrow…O.K., at least I wanted to whip up the tote bag and five pencil cases that I’ve had cut out and waiting to be assembled for about three weeks now.  I got a good start, took a quick break to take Chris to work, sat back down at the machine and promptly sewed and trimmed a corner in the completely wrong place doing irreparable damage to the bag lining I was working on.   AARRRRGGGG!

So I quit.

Well, not for good, just for the morning.  Instead, I pulled Sara out of bed (she never sleeps in so late!), and drove into Portland to check out a new shop in town, The Merchant Company, where I’m hoping one day to be able to sell my wares.  It’s a great place, if you’re in the area, you should definitely check it out!

Anyway, after leaving there I got inspired and decided I needed to make a trip to Goodwill for some old ties…but I ended up leaving with more than ties.  I discovered vintage record album covers…and realized what amazing notebook covers they would make!  Here are a few of my favorite new products:

Half-page sized, blank page note book and matching bookmark...I've no idea who the song writers were, but I loved their cover art!

This one's Boston Pops album of classic movie themes, full-sized pagesThis one’s a Boston Pops album of classic movie themes, full-sized pages

I’m really liking this new vintage Hand-Me-Down line.  The big reveal will be this weekend at the Biddefair craft fair in Biddeford, Main Street, Saturday, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.  We’ll see if my neighbors like these goodies as much as I do…who knows, maybe they’ll end up in my Etsy shop. 🙂

Well, it’s 9:15 p.m. and past my bedtime.  Nighty night, folks!

Blessings,

m

8 thoughts on “Going Vintage

  1. Ooooh, liking this new idea….!!

  2. handmedowndesigns

    Thanks, Carol! They are really fun to make, too! Hopefully the shoppers like them 🙂

  3. Those are some great covers, I agree. And I totally feel you on the sewing. I tried to do a quick skirt for my daughter last night and one of the threads kept breaking in my serger… So much for quick and accomplished. hah

  4. Wow, you are into all kinds of stuff! Can’t wait to see it all in person on Saturday! 🙂

    • handmedowndesigns

      Thanks Jenny! Actually, I don’t often branch off to other things, but I’m in a bit of a sewing slump right now and these notebooks have been a great diversion. I feel an itching to get back to my sewing machine! Monday after the craft fair for sure! See you soon!

      • Awesome, as long as you don’t start sewing shorts-bags. That’s the only idea I’ve had so far! 😛

        I tried going to Tony’s Sewing Machines yesterday (Motto: “If You’re Late On Your Payments, We’ll Bust Your Needles”), but he was closed. The Goodwill is open late, though, God bless ’em.

  5. handmedowndesigns

    LOVE Goodwill! I visited the Scarborough one earlier in the week. Makes the Biddeford one look like the corner store! We’ll have to take a trip together sometime! BTW, Tony’s is closed on Mondays, too. I found that out the hard way last week, just when I needed white thread and Wal-Mart was out!

    And don’t worry, I promise I’ll leave the shorts-bags to you. They are fabulous!

    • Yeah, I noticed the closed-on-Mondays thing too. Also Sundays. I would love a Goodwill buddy – my mom goes with me sometimes, but can’t always. I might have to get a discount card there pretty soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

