The Advent of NomMon (TM)

NomMon (TM)

“Nom, nom, nom!”

Admit it, you can’t help but say it out loud in a growly, grumbly sort of voice.  “Nom, nom, nom!”  Just like a chomping monster gobbling down whatever it can get its hands onto!  This little monster is named NomMon (TM), and he’s the brainchild of my son, my husband, and me.

It started with my son’s lunch for work.  He would pack a sandwich and a snack, then drop it into one of those reusable mesh grocery bags.  Huge bag, small lunch.  Being a bag maker, I kept threatening to make him a lunch bag, but it was about a month before I finally got around to it.  I liked the design that I came up with, but I wanted some way to embellish it.

I’ve recently had the phrase “nom, nom, nom” rattling around in my head.  I’m not exactly sure why, but it seems to be popping up a lot recently, so joining a lunch bag with an amazing chomp-inspired onomatopoeia was a very natural step.

While sitting at the dinner table that night, I brought up my lunch bag decor idea, which immediately led to a frivolous chorus of “nom, nom, nom”-ing.  (You really should try it…it’s amazingly fun!)  I’m not exactly sure who said what when, but in the course of the next few minutes we had jointly come up with the idea of adding a chomping monster face to the motif.  Perfect!

I got right to work, and before the evening was over, NomMon (TM) was born!

His name actually came a day or so later.  After posting the bag in my Etsy shop and getting an enthusiastic response, our little chomping monster came up in conversation often enough that we needed to refer to him as something.  I had been referring to him as NomNom, but my husband said, “No, his name is NomMon (TM).”  And so it is.

I don’t know what will become of NomMon (TM) (although I sold my first one within a couple of hours of listing him!), but we’re having fun dreaming.  I’m in the process of making up a bunch of NomMon (TM) lunch bags to take to a craft fair this weekend, and I’ve got a couple other design ideas to put our little chomping dude on.  I’ve even set up a separate section of my Etsy shop devoted to all things NomMon (TM).  Yes, we’re a bit enthralled right now, but it’s fun having a design that my whole family likes (that doesn’t happen too often!).  Besides, what’s the fun of creating if you can’t dream, right?!

Say it with me now…

NomMon (TM) 2011 Hand-Me-Down Designs

8 thoughts on “The Advent of NomMon (TM)

  1. Just loving it, mon! So adorable! What craft fair are you doing this weekend?

    • handmedowndesigns

      Thanks!
      I will be in Kennebunk for their Old Home Days. We’re supposed to be around the town hall area on main street.

  2. Awesome! Everyone must go! I can vouch that all your stuff is great, not just this bag, for I have seen it in person! 🙂

  3. […] you remember NomMon (TM)?  Well, hubby has encouraged me to get in gear and get our chomping dude some exposure.  Of […]

  4. […] Speaking of which…they just sold the last of the bibs and I’ve had to make more to restock, so I thought it might be fun to share with you what actually goes into the making of a NomMon (TM) product.  By the way, if you don’t know the story of NomMon, you can read about it here. […]

Leave a Reply

