Regrouping

image by marfis75, licensed by Creative Commons Generic Attribute 2.0

 

I was talking with my dear hubby yesterday and asked him for an honest, outside assessment of how he sees things are going with my little business.  His response, “You seem to be a bit scattered.”

He’s right, you know, and I’ve felt it for a few weeks now.  I seem to be bouncing from one project or responsibility to the next with no clear direction or plan.  I feel really busy, and at the same time, feel like I’m not getting much accomplished.  So I decided it was high time to regroup.  And my favorite place to start when it’s regrouping time…God’s Word.

I decided to open up to Proverbs 31.  You may know the passage…all about the “excellent wife.”  I’ve studied this passage before and long ago came to the understanding that the woman depicted here is the ideal, not necessarily the realistic, but it sure is a great goal to shoot for.  Anyway, I picked this passage because I felt like I could relate, what with caring for her household, working with her hands, making and selling goods…kinda sounds like my life.  I started reading the passage and the very first thing I noticed was what the very first topic of her attentions were.  Her husband.

“An excellent wife who can find?  She is far more precious than jewels. The heart of her husband trusts in her, and he will have no lack of gain. She does him good, and not harm, all the days of her life.”  Proverbs 31:10-12

I was suddenly struck with a few questions, “Can I say, without a doubt, that my husband finds me trustworthy?  I mean, of his deepest, most vulnerable parts?”  Hmmm, not 100% sure about that one.  How about the next verse…do I do him “good, and not harm”?  In other words, am I a good help-mate, encourager, supporter, partner?  Or am I guilty of nagging, whining, and being needy?

Definitely food for thought.

I’ve come up with a game plan as far as my sewing and selling goes, but I think I’m going to take some time to carefully contemplate this passage about the ‘excellent wife.’  I mean, what good is being successful in my business if my marriage, family, and home are left in shambles?  I’ve been down this regrouping road often enough in the past to know that focusing on the important things has a really neat way of affecting the seemingly non-related things.  When I’m cooperating with what God is trying to do in me, He does a fantastic job of working everything else out.

That being said, I’m going to go and do some stitching while I consider today’s verses…I’d love to give my hubby the gift of a cheerful heart when he comes home tonight.  That and a steaming cup of coffee and the aroma of dinner on the way!  (You know, it may not be in the Bible, but I’ve found it true, none the less…a sure way to a man’s heart is through his stomach!) 🙂

Have a blessed day!

m

5 thoughts on “Regrouping

  1. Just stumbled upon your blog while searching wordpress for “home” & really enjoyed this blog. Convicting to say the least! 🙂

    Thanks for the food for thought this morning.

  2. handmedowndesigns

    Thanks Suzanne! I stopped by your blog…love it! Thanks for being so open, so yourself! We’ll praise the Lord together in all things!

  3. Hey, I’ve been to your home and met your family, and neither one appear to be in a shambles! Far from it.

    I just hope God won’t be mad that my boyfriend does almost all the cooking at my place! I do most of the cleaning though. That will have to suffice. 🙂

  4. Thanks for some good reminders, friend! ♥

  5. handmedowndesigns

    Thanks, Jenny! Just trying to stay on the right track! 🙂

    Carol, my friend, I miss you! Hope you’re having a great summer with those beautiful granddaughters of yours!

Leave a Reply

