“Honor Your Father & Mother” Day

Being the author of this blog, I declare this post is dedicated for the entire day to “Honor your father and your mother.”  That’s right, I’m declaring an official one day personal blog holiday especially for stopping to take a moment to go give our parents some recognition.  I’ll go first.

This is my mom, Susie, and my step-father, Bill, aka, Gramma and Grampa.  They’ve been married for over 10 years now, and, in my opinion, are perfect for each other.  I chose this picture, first, because it’s a really great picture of them, but mostly because it depicts one of the things that I most admire about them, their patriotism.  My parents are some of the most proud Americans I personally know, and I’m really grateful for their example to me and my children.

Individually, I admire how my mom is growing in her relationship with the Lord, learning to lean on Him to help her deal with the pain and inconveniences she is experiencing because of physical ailments, and how she has come to be able to laugh and get on with life regardless of how her body feels.  And I must admit, though it sometimes causes me to blush, my ego really appreciates how she is so vocal with her delusions that I’m the best at everything I do.  (Man, I wish my kids had that same delusion!).

And Grampa Bill…he’s one in a million.  I love how he makes my mom happy.  And I love how he took my family and me as his own when he married my mom even though I was full-grown with kids of my own.  I love how he reminds me of Santa Claus, and how he manages to make every waitress and cashier he encounters blush with his innocent flirting.

And I’m sure it wouldn’t be hard to come up with more great things about my parents, but I’ll stop now because I’d really like to hear what you appreciate about your parents.  Even if you don’t choose to share your comments here, I hope you’ll take advantage of “Honor Your Father & Mother Day” and tell them personally.  Mom, I know you’ll read this, so consider yourself told! 🙂

Be blessed, ’cause if you have parents, and we all do, then you already are!

m

10 thoughts on ““Honor Your Father & Mother” Day

  1. Aww, how sweet. At the moment I’m trying to teach my mom something on the computer–she can do ANYTHING that doesn’t have anything to do with electronics. I love the way she was one of the first moms out of all my friends moms that learned to text and that dad has to tell her to put her phone down during dinner sometimes. My dad is the bug killer around here, will eat really weird combinations of food, and answers with “let’s pray about it” whenever his children as for something that he doesn’t want to give them lol.

    • handmedowndesigns

      This makes me smile, Lizzy! I can just picture your mom texting away while your dad is chasing down a skittish spider! And I really like dad’s answer to certain requests…I might have to adopt that one! 🙂

  2. A lovely and love filled post! And that photo of your wonderful patriotic mom and step-father is perfect! So happy you have them to love and honor!!!

  3. I love this post and seeing your love and honor for your parents! I had wonderful parents who loved their God, each other and their family and church. They were great examples not only for their children and grandchildren but especially for their church family who they spent so much time and love with. They had been married for 60 years when Daddy passed away and their love for one another was precious and a delight for their children. I miss them very much! thank you for this opportunity to honor them. 🙂
    blessings, ZudaGay

    • handmedowndesigns

      Thanks for sharing with us, ZudaGay. I’m hoping that one day my children will be able to say such things about my husband and me.

  4. What a nice looking couple! I don’t have my dad anymore, but folks appreciated the way he could make anyone feel like they knew at least as much as he did about anything…even the things he was expert at. Anyone that knows my mom appreciates the way she makes them laugh and how important it is to not take oneself too seriously. ^_^ They both had very generous hearts, as well. Nice topic today, Malaika…as usual, you’ve been a blessing, and your parents can be very proud of ya! ♥♥

    • handmedowndesigns

      I hope one day to meet both you and your mom, Carol. I know you’ve been a blessing to me in the few short months we’ve known each other. Thanks for sharing!

  5. Awww, how nice. They both look like lovely people (and one of them looks like you!) My mom and I celebrate Daughter’s Day on July 15th, which is also a holiday we made up to honor our relationship. I recommend it.

    I love my mom because she’s awesome in every way, and also because she chose not to pass on the way that she was raised herself. She’s been my BFF like, forever. And my dad is pretty great too, although he lives in the sticks and has a goat instead of a dog. To each their own, I always say. 🙂

    • handmedowndesigns

      Jenny, I agree with you, your mom is pretty great! Thanks for sharing here, and for sharing your mom with me. You can bring her around any time!

  6. Way to make me cry…..I love you

Leave a Reply

