Autumn’s Comin’

A couple of weeks ago my friend, Audrey, gave me a bag full of hand-me-downs.  In that bag was a gorgeous brick-red corduroy skirt.  I knew right away that skirt was destined for something special, and today was the day that vision came to life.

I love autumn.  In my humble opinion, it’s the loveliest time of year, just a hint of chill in the air, clear blue skies, and colors so varied and vibrant…love it!  That being said, I’ve been waiting all year for it to be the ‘right time’ to create a bag for the season.  The red of Audrey’s skirt was just screaming, “Oo, oo!  Pick me!  Pick me!”  So I grabbed the skirt and then started rummaging around in my clothing piles until I found some lovely shades of tan and brown in various textures, perfect compliments to my main color.

Next, for a  design…I wanted something special for this bag, not my ‘regular’ stuff.  I started flitting through my idea journal and came across a picture I’d found months ago and stashed away until I had time to figure out how to make it.  It was perfect!

I stayed up way too late last night, figuring out my pattern and cutting my pieces, but everything was set to assemble when I got up this morning.  I had to tweak a few things to get it just right, but I’m really happy with the outcome.  And I’m so thankful that the lighting outside today was perfect for picture-taking!

3 thoughts on “Autumn’s Comin’

  1. I see you used my tan pants!!! The bag looks lovely!! Great Job

  2. Ooh, that is just gorgeous. Love the earthy colors! Very stylish too. Wish *I* was!

    Great job! 🙂

  3. Saw this browsing through purse week and love it! I may have to try something like this; I don’t have any purses that are nearly so classy. The colors are wonderful!

Leave a Reply

