Surprise!

You may or may not know that I turned 40 about a week ago.  What I didn’t know was that my dear husband had been planning a surprise party for me! 🙂

You may be wondering why I’ve got a picture of a pile of jeans tied with a bow at the head of this post.  I’m here to tell you that was only a small part of some of the best birthday gifts I could have asked for!

When hubby sent out invites to the party, he informed the guests that gifts were not necessary, but, if they felt so inclined, they might consider bringing a pile of hand-me-downs.  And let me tell you, not only was I thrilled to have a huge influx of new materials to add to my stash, but, talking with my friends and family later, I found that many of them had a blast shopping at the thrift store and looking for ‘just the right pair’ of pants to bring as a gift.  How cool is that, a gift that was as fun to shop for as it was to receive!?

The rest of the stash!

I can’t wait to get to that pile and see what kind of great things will come of it all!  Thanks to all my friends, family, and crafting buddies…and especially hubby, for making this surprise something I will always remember with a smile! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Surprise!

  1. So nice! That is a big haul, and happy belated birthday to you!

  2. Wow! Impressive haul, and great cake and lasagna too! You can turn 40 every year as far as I’m concerned! Especially since you don’t even BEGIN to look it! 🙂

  3. Awww–that’s pretty neat! Happy belated birthday, Malaika! ♥

  4. Congrats on turning 40, Malaika! How wonderful that your husband organized such a great surprise for you! And the idea about the hand-me-downs? Genius! Have fun exploring that lovely looking stash!

Leave a Reply

