Zippers Are a Snap!

Photo courtesy of K and C Supplies, my current favorite zipper supplier on Etsy!

 

So many people I know think that sewing zippers is a dreaded task…I admit it, I used to be one of them!  But, I’m here to tell you, that beast of a zipper CAN actually be tamed, and you can come out of it looking like a zipper pro!

How, you ask?  With the help of a very good teacher, who, by the way, is NOT me.  Nope.  I learned how to conquer the zipper from a tutorial I found on one of my favorite sewing blogs, Sew Mama Sew.  I found this great post titled Zippered and Slip Pocket Tutorial (they shared it from another blog, Creative Little Daisy), and I  just knew that my zipper fearing days were over!

I don’t want to just copy the whole tutorial over here, ‘casue I didn’t ask permission, and I try to be careful about not stealing other people’s ideas, but here are a few pictures and the link to the tutorial so you can see for yourself: 

Zippered and Slip Pocket Tutorial

   

Go ahead, give it a try!  You will be so proud of yourself!

BTW…just wanted to add a personal note here.  In the tutorial where the instructor uses fusible tape, she also suggests that glue stick works, too.  She’s right, and it’s my prefered way of tacking things in place.  I’ve even used glue stick in other projects where a good but temporary bond is needed.  And, personal preference here…I like Staples brand glue sticks best.  But that’s just me.

Anyway, happy zipper sewing!  You can do it!  And if you try it, take a picture and share it with us on my Facebook page, won’t you?  Then we can all be proud of each other together! 🙂

Leave a Reply

