Crayon…I Mean, Crunch Time!

Craft fair season is in full swing, and this weekend is the big one…the only two-day event I signed up for this year.  And what am I doing during these final hours before the event?  Why, coming up with a completely new design idea, of course!  I really should have my head checked…

Anyway, I saw an idea for these great crayon wallets and thought, “I could make that in a jiffy!  And what great stocking stuffers they would make!  I simply MUST make a half-dozen or so immediately!”

A “jiffy” turned out to be a 13 hour-long process of shopping for crayons and paper (the sixth store was the charm!), designing the wallet features, cutting pattern templates, drawing a crayon applique, making prototype number 1…and number 2…and number 3, before finally nailing it down and whipping out 7, count ’em, 7 fun crayon wallets, eager to end up in some young one’s Christmas stocking!

Boy, I hope folks like these.  Late nights and I do not get along well!

I could only get a couple of pictures for you because it’s raining out.  I’ve got others… red denim, dark slate gray denim, and a couple of corduroy ones in orange and sparkly hot pink:

Here’s the inside of the wallet with the golden crayon that’s pictured at the top of the page:

Aren’t these fun?!  O.K., I think it’s time for a nap.  zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

5 thoughts on “Crayon…I Mean, Crunch Time!

  1. how cool is that! Would be great for mom’s to carry along to help kids pass the time in a restaurant, doctor’s office, DMV, wherever the little ones would easily get bored without this fun wallet as their companion!
    As usual, another great idea from my fabulously talented daughter!!!!!

  2. Well those really are adorable! And you really are crazy! But crazy like a fox, hopefully. Best of luck this weekend. I’m sure you’ll do great! 🙂

  3. Very cute! I really, really like them. What a great idea. I am sure that will be a hit and sell well.
    Beth 🙂

  4. Excellent idea. I’d consider one for me, really. PUt colored pencils in there for when I sketch.
    Oh, it’s great for kids, too!

  5. Whay a clever idea! It lokks like a lot of work went into that. I would love one to tuck into my purse.

Leave a Reply

