Parking Meter Pity Party

Have you ever read the story called “Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day”?  Yeah, that was my day yesterday.  Of course, it could have been worse, but bad just feels bad.

photo courtesy of Scott Beale / Laughing Squid, laughingsquid.com

It started out pretty good…some last minute details before going to set up my booth at a really great shop in town (The Merchant Company in Portland, in case you’re wondering and want to visit!), peanut butter and honey on home-made waffles for breakfast, and spending the morning/early afternoon with my good friend Shanna (my booth mate at TMC).

Of course, being in town and spending two and a half hours setting up shop means dumping a lot of quarters into a money-hungry post of metal charged with the duty of guarding my parking spot on the street.  I knew I was cutting it close…my watch said I had three more minutes to leave the store and get back to my car, but my bladder said it wouldn’t be able to survive the trip home without a pit stop.  I didn’t make it…to the car, I mean, not the potty.  As I walked up beside my vehicle to get in, I saw two things: 1) A ticket neatly tucked under my wipers, and 2) The friendly, neighborhood parking meter attendant walking away.  Ugh!

I tried to count my blessings, I really did….like, “at least my business is doing well enough to be able to pay this ticket,” and “I got this ticket while setting up at a great place to sell my things,” but, I have to admit, even my usually optimistic self couldn’t shake the discouragement of getting a ticket after over two hours of running in and out of the store to make sure the meter stayed fed.

When I got home, all I wanted to do was sit down and sew for what little remained of the day, but a mound of dishes waited for me, three dish racks full.  And the straw that broke the camel’s back…my tortilla broke as I was rolling up my fajita for dinner.  There’s nothing worse than a broken fajita.  O.K., there is, but it felt pretty bad.

Thankfully, God’s mercies are new every morning, and each day is a fresh start, so…..to start today off, here are some pictures of our booth at The Merchant Company:

The jewlry and owl gear are some of Shanna’s creations

My “men’s line”

My newest offerings, kiss clasp clutches!

Now, off to get this new day started right….time for breakfast!  Have a great one!

P.S.  The photos of our booth are courtesy of Shanna.  Thanks, Shanna, for the great pictures!

8 thoughts on “Parking Meter Pity Party

  1. Oh M, a treacherous bladder, a parking ticket, a broken fajita – I hear you on all 3 counts. But all in one day!!! And you, my amazing friend, wake up smiling and praising God! ♥ ♥ ♥
    P.S. Your booth is perfectly beautiful!!!! 🙂

    • I figure, it’s laugh or cry, and life is too short for extra tears. Besides, in hindsight, it really is laughable. I mean, fussing over broken tortillas…come on, really!?

      Glad I could bring you a smile 🙂

  2. Oh no, I quote that book when I’m having a hard day, too. But, you’re booth looks fabulous AND you’re still praising God! That’s not a fail – it’s a WIN! 🙂

  3. Those treacherous parking meters!!! The same thing happened to me in Old Orchard Beach last summer AHHHHH!!!!! I was actually headed in to get more quarters and use the potty, by the time I got back out to the car the ticket was there. I swear the meter man was sitting there watching for me to walk away from the car! lol!!

    Your booth looks GREAT!!! I can’t wait to get down there to see it in person =).

  4. Ack. I think I would call the parking ticket people and complain. It’s not like you weren’t trying.

    I had pretty much that same crappy day on Sunday, but things have been looking up since then, so hopefully they will for you too. Your booth looks awesome! And the phrase “kiss clasp clutches” is now stuck in my head for all time. Try saying that six times fast! 🙂

  5. Oh, sad! This always happens to me. If you ever see the meter guy near your car again try and catch him/her – they’re supposed to reverse the ticket if they see you! Or at least that’s been my experience. However – the fajita thing? Bummer!

    Hope tomorrow goes better – and your First Friday Merchant Co. sales more than make up for the crummy day!

Leave a Reply

