The Truth Is…

Let’s face it, we’re humans, not robots (at least I hope so).

We can’t go for vast amounts of time without stopping.  We need to eat, sleep, breathe, interact with other humans…

That being said, I think the very first thing to remember is, we don’t have do everything right away!

Just like building friendships, raising children, and learning how to do advanced calculations in Trigonometry, building your Etsy empire takes time… lots of it, and, as the old saying goes:

“Rome wasn’t built in a day!”

It’s gonna take time if you want to do it right.  And you’re gonna need a plan.  All the wisest sources will tell you that you need a business plan.

They’re right.

But before I can wrap my head around a business plan, I need a daily plan, one where I’ve got a clear direction for what I’d like to accomplish today so that I can make sure all the important things get done and the other things aren’t forgotten in the meantime.

Enter the “To Do” List:

Such a simple little tool, and I know we’ve all heard of it, and yet, so often neglected.  It’s one of my favorite ways to keep my sanity, so here’s a quick “how-to about to-do’s”

To start with, make a list of everything you would like to get done today.  Brainstorm.  Put down everything that comes to mind.

After you’ve done that, filter your list.  If you’ve got a really long list, take a good look at it and cross off things that aren’t as important.  If you need to, put them on a different list.  I wrote “clean the basement” on my list this morning.  Ain’t gonna happen…that’s the truth.  I moved that to a “long term to-do” list so I don’t forget it.

After you’ve eliminated the excess baggage, prioritize your list.  The order that things come out of your head isn’t always the smartest order to do them in.  If you think you struggle with OCD (I know I do some days!), you can even rewrite your list in the right order…I don’t recommend this, ‘cause it takes extra time, but if it helps, do it!  Either that or you can just number each of the items in order of “do first” through “do last.”  Today, I’m feeling rather clear minded, so I decided that my prioritizing didn’t need to be written.

Next, and most important …

Just do it!

All the best planning in the world isn’t going to accomplish anything if you don’t actually follow through.

Now for the really fun part!

Cross things off your list as you complete them.

I love the feeling I get at the end of the  day when all the things on my list are crossed off…kinda warm and fuzzy…o.k., not really, but it does feel good, and I get a sense that I’ve actually accomplished something today.

Oh…there IS a P.S.

Sometimes you might have to add things to your list as the whole “interacting with other humans” thing happens.  Like today, mid-morning, I got an order for something that I’m currently out of stock of.  It won’t take me long to make, I’ve already got my supplies ready, but I am going to have to fit it in today.

No problem!  Added to my list and notated with the appropriate reminders to make sure it gets done today, or else!

There you have it.  To-Do Lists for Dummies, ‘cause, really, most of us need a good reminder of the basics from time to time.

At least I hope I’m not the only one….right?

Don’t leave me hanging here…

9 thoughts on “The Truth Is…

  1. That’s your list for ONE DAY? Good heavens. I’m going back to bed. And I’m taking MY color coded, super OCD list with me. Sheesh.

    And somehow she managed to work blogging in there too! 🙂

  2. handmedowndesigns

    Hey, just ’cause it’s on the list doesn’t guarantee it gets done…it’s more of a guideline, kinda like a pirate’s parlé…changes on a whim!

  3. Infamous for my lists! But I do need to get back in the habit of doing them daily, not just when it gets really crazy….good reminder to get back to whats important for each day…. You can cross off working on the blog 😉

    • handmedowndesigns

      I’m glad I’m not the only one!
      And I’m almost ready to cross that one off….just a little more tweaking! 🙂
      I still have to go for a walk!

  4. Love this post. LOVE. IT. SO MUCH. 🙂 Thanks Malaika 😉 And it’s a work in progress. Always xooxooxoo

  5. […] everyday life meets Etsy world « The Truth Is… Mar […]

  6. adorablebanner

    I do my list in a steno notebook also. The left column is for online tasks, the right column for real life/sewing tasks. I just keep going with the list until everything on that page is crossed off (takes days, sometimes weeks) then tear off the page. I have another list (it’s actually a worksheet) for online tasks I do every day and therefore don’t warrant getting on the list. OCD noooo, LISTLOVER. I spin in circles without a list. Living with an unfinished list is a step towards maturity for me; there’s always tomorrow.
    Great post!

  7. […] I think I’m going to crumple up my to-do list, only do enough chores so that I’m not walking around in a pig sty today, and then plonk […]

Leave a Reply

