Balancing Act

"What Goes Up" by Ninjagrl on Etsy.

Do you remember when we were kids and we’d play on the teeter totter with our friends at the park?  My favorite thing was either trying to push off so fast that we would raise off the seat a little each time we went up, or to try to sit in just the right spot so that the teeter totter was perfectly balanced, both of us with our feet dangling (we were much shorter then, remember?).

That sweet spot, where we’re perfectly balanced, is where I’d love to be when it comes to combining my Etsy-world with my “real” life, but, I have to admit, most days it feels more like those times when two of your friends gang up on you and sit on one end of the teeter totter so that you’re stuck in mid-air with no hope of being able to push yourself back to earth.

And, for me at least, it almost feels like I’m on a double-decker teeter totter…the Etsy side has an extra level of balancing…producing goods vs. all the computer stuff involved in selling those goods.

That’s where I really struggle.  I’m either glued to my sewing machine, or stuck on the computer, both of them demanding all the attention.

Here’s where that to-do list we talked about yesterday comes in handy.

And remembering that we can’t do it all, all at once.

I’m constantly having to remind myself that just because I haven’t listed anything in my shop for a week or so does NOT mean that it’s going to fall off the face of cyber space.

The key is balance.  Finding that sweet spot where the right amount of both areas get tended to.

That and remembering not to be so hard on yourself if you can’t get it right.

Remember, each day is a brand new chance to try again.  I love that!

Wanna know something?  I didn’t do a very good job of balancing yesterday.  You know that to-do list?  Yeah, still waiting to get done.

But today’s a new day, and it’s only 8 a.m.  New day, new chance…

I can feel it….it’s gonna be a great one!

Who wants to play teeter totter with me?!

2 thoughts on “Balancing Act

  1. Oh boy, I know that feeling! Today’s a computer and shipping day for me!

    I think it’s all about finding something you don’t mind doing, so all that work feels more like fun. I’m still working on that. I think you already have it pretty much down pat. Hang in there! 🙂

  2. […] everyday life meets Etsy world « Balancing Act Mar […]

Leave a Reply

