Bee Yourself!

Courtesy of WiseSewcialTies

I had something in mind already for my topic today, but when I checked my in-box this morning and read the article in Etsypreneur called “The First Fan You Need in Your Circles is You!”I just knew I had to share that message today instead.

The big idea I came away from that post with was “be yourself.”

There is only one you.  Sure, lots of people out there may think a lot like you, or like a lot of the same things, but only you are you.  To quote the article…

You are unique.

That’s what makes you so stinkin’ awesome!  –  Tim Layton, Etsypreneur

Find out what that thing is that drives you each day, what it is about your work that makes it stand out from the rest, and utilize it.  Your Etsy shop is going to be just another Etsy shop if all you’re doing is trying to make stuff to sell.  If you want your Etsy shop to shine, figure out what makes YOU shine, and make sure a piece of that is in everything you make, do, sell, and share.

Me, I love denim.  Blue, red, yellow, pink, purple, green…doesn’t matter, really.  It’s great stuff!  I love bags and purses.  I love bold colors and simple designs.  If you look at my shop, you’re going to see a lot of all of those things.  It’s what makes HMDDesigns different from other bag-makers out there.  Are the designs and ideas radically new and unique…nope.  (A very wise man once wrote, “There’s nothing new under the sun.”)  But I’ve taken existing ideas and added a whole bunch of me to them.

And when you put a whole bunch of “you” in your products, you won’t be able to help being passionate about them, telling people about them, wanting the whole world to see them….in other words…when you love what you make, it’s not so hard to get other folks to love it too!

O.K., gotta run, but remember…..”BEE YOURSELF!”

One thought on “Bee Yourself!

  1. Good points! I’ve been thinking about this a lot myself lately, actually – why I do what I do and how it is different from what anyone else does. Maybe you can tell me. I think I’ll go have a snack and let somebody else work it out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

