The Dreaded Doldrums

Courtesy of Opus81

Merriam-Webster.com defines doldrums as “1) a spell of listlessness or despondency; 2) often capitalized : a part of the ocean near the equator abounding in calms, squalls, and light shifting winds; 3) a state or period of inactivity, stagnation, or slump

Um. Yeah….that about sums up my part of Etsy-world right now.

I have to confess, I knew it was coming.  There’s always that time of year when nothing seems to be selling.  The question is, what do you do with yourself during the down times?

I tried to be prepared by stocking up on supplies over the holidays when I had some income.  That’s worked out well for me so far because I still have materials to work with even though I don’t have money to spend.

But even that gets old after a while.  I mean, really, there comes a point where making more surplus inventory is just a little crazy, right?

One thing I like to do during the slow season is experiment with new designs.  I keep a notebook where I jot down ideas as they come along, but I don’t always have the time to develop them right away.  Now’s the perfect time for that.  I’ve come up with several new designs these past few weeks that I’m hoping people will love…once they decide to start buying again!

Of course, another great thing to do is take a break! Really…sit back, breathe, go for a walk, play a game with the kids…if you’re really ambitious, do some spring cleaning.  Take some quality “real world” time.

If you’re anything like me, you have a hard time taking a break…there’s always something else you could be doing to promote your business, something else you want to try to create…those are good things, but not at the expense of your family or sanity.

Today, I think I’m going to run a couple of errands I’ve been putting off.

How about you?  What do you like to do best when you’ve got some down time?

5 thoughts on “The Dreaded Doldrums

  1. Down time? What the heck is that? I’m not familiar with this term. I dunno, I always feel like I have way too much to do, even when I’m not selling anything. But if you’re really looking for stuff to do, just try to imagine everything that’s going to happen to you in the next six months, and write all your blog posts ahead of time! Think of all the time you’ll save! 😛

    • handmedowndesigns

      Good idea! Except I think my brain might explode if I tried that! 🙂

      By the way…happy early birthday! 🙂

      • What? Birthday? You mean I have to work THAT in too? Oh well, after I eat pizza and cake tomorrow, I’ll need plenty of down time. I’ll be in a happy little carb coma. Don’t wake me for about a week. 🙂

  2. i agree. the concept of down time is hard to grasp. 🙂
    just taking photos and editing them takes me hours! i shouldn’t have admitted that right?

    • handmedowndesigns

      Uggh! Just about everything about photos makes me crazy! I’m with you, Lisa, photo editing DOES take hours! Glad I’m not the only one! 🙂

Leave a Reply

