Stop and Smell the Roses

Courtesy of Rebel Rose Design

It’s been a GORGEOUS weekend here in Northern New England!  I even went outside and walked in the yard barefoot!  In the middle of March!  Definitely counting my blessings. 🙂

It’s also been a weekend of some soul-searching and decision-making as far as my little Etsy business is concerned.

Have you ever been in a spot where you just sort of stop, look around, and ask yourself #1…How did I get here? and #2…Where do I want to go from here?  That’s where I’ve been this weekend.

I don’t really have an answer yet to question #2, and I started off today still mulling it over in my head when I came across something in the Good Book that helped me get a better perspective.  Firstly, all this business stuff, though definitely a good and worthwhile pursuit, is really very temporary in the whole big picture of time, so stressing myself out about it is most certainly a waste of time.  And secondly, I need to remember to breathe…just step back, refocus, and breathe.

So, today’s lesson…work diligently, work hard, work smart, but don’t forget to stop and smell the roses.

3 thoughts on “Stop and Smell the Roses

  1. Very true Malaika. 🙂

  2. i really like the way you put that and will try to remember it myself. i’m often surprised how a little thing like a focused breath can make a world of difference. wish i remembered it more 🙂

    • I know what you mean, Lisa! Sometimes I think I need to tattoo the word “breathe!” to the back of my hand….maybe then I’d remember to do it more often! 🙂

Leave a Reply

