Getting Found

Courtesy of Graphique

O.K., it’s not a roaring success…yet.  But it IS working!

Oh, I guess you’re wondering what in the world I’m talking about.

Networking!

If you’ve been following me, you might remember last week when I wrote about making on-line connections with people who might be interested in my products.

And, as much as I hate homework, I’ve been doing it, and….it’s been working!

I don’t have any sales from the effort yet, but the fact that I’m getting folks to visit my shop and my blogs through connecting with them on other sites and blogs is really exciting!

I’ll share with you what I’ve been doing….just baby steps at this point, but definitely a good start.

First of all, the supplier who I get my metal purse frames from is a really big supporter of those of us who use her hardware.  So much so, that when she gets requests for clutches made from her frames, she refers the customer to a page of her blog that she has devoted to a list of bag makers who use her frames.

What did I do?  I contacted her and asked her to add my shop, which she kindly agreed to.  Within a day of my shop being listed on her page, I was receiving views from her site.

How simple was that!?

Another thing I’ve been doing is taking advantage of “link parties.”  A blogger will open up their page on a particular day and time and allow you to “share” a link to a blog, post, page, photo, or other media.  Your “share” shows up with a whole list of other “shares” and usually includes a picture.  There are usually some criteria you must follow for an allowable “share,” so be sure to play nice and follow the rules.  Oh, and return the favor by checking out some of the other “shares.”

I’ve connected with a few sites visited by people who like pretty, hand-crafted or sewn things.  Without fail, I see an increase to views within the day.  One of my favorites is Tea Rose Home.  She hasn’t done a link party in a little while, but when she did, I always got extra views.

And I know you’ve heard this before, but it really does make a difference….comment on other people’s blogs and be sure your avatar will lead folks back to you.  If you haven’t done it yet, visit Gravatar.com.  You can set up an avatar that’s compatible with tons of sites and includes a link to where people can find you.

So go on, get out there and make yourself know!  You do it every day when you’re out and about, smiling at someone, making eye contact, even exchanging a friendly greeting.  Doing it on line is even easier…at least you can’t see them if they look at you funny!  And the more you spread your presence through the internet, the more easily you’ll be found…and being found is what it’s all about.

 

15 thoughts on “Getting Found

  1. thanks for the post. I too try to “network” but I am also conscious not to be spammy, it is a fine line but when you do it correctly I think the rewards are great! good luck and keep up the good work!

    • That’s a really great point, Angel. We do need to be careful not to come across as spam. Besides being rude, it defeats the purpose of promoting. I mean, really, who wants to be known as a pest, right!? 🙂

  2. Great tips! I spend 4-5 hours a day doing Etsy stuff and networking on the sites I understand! What I mean is I don’t quite get Pinterest, Twitter and Google + yet but I am working on it….!

  3. It does take a lot of work! I think you are on the right track. 🙂

  4. What great tips! Networking can take up a lot of time, but it is so necessary.

  5. Great job on your marketing, keep at it and you will see sales. Blessings Niki x

  6. Inspiring post. I am new to networking. At first I wasn’t sure about how to communicate with people I don’t meet and see. I still have a lot to learn and enjoyed very much reading about your experiences.

  7. Thanks for the pep talk

  8. thanks for the pep talk

  9. Yes – it takes time!

  10. Thanks for these tips, I am interested in Gravatar so I will check it out.

  11. Thank you for mentioning me in your blog! That’s very gracious of you. As a seller, I really hold true to the ideal that if my customers do well, then I will do well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

