Lemonade, Anyone?

Courtesy of UUPP

Some days Etsy-world makes me grumpy.  Yesterday was one of those days.

I don’t like being grumpy, so I’m going to fall back on an age-old adage…

“When life gives you lemons, make lemonade!”

And the best way I know to make ‘lemonade’ is to count my blessings, so here are the first 10 things that popped into my head that I’m thankful for right now:

  1. A blog community to share my day with! 🙂
  2. A sweet, furry, purr-y friend, sunning himself on the windowsill.
  3. A family who will enjoy the spaghetti and meatballs I’m making for dinner.
  4. An Etsy team family who I can grumble to and laugh with, all at the same time!
  5. A functioning washer and dryer that are responsible for the pile of clothes waiting to be folded.
  6. A pile of clean clothing, even if it still needs to be folded!
  7. A strong, hard-working, faithful man I call my husband.
  8. A good cup of coffee.
  9. A sky full of sunshine.
  10. An awesome God Who provided it all, and so much more!

Ah, that’s better!  Fresh squeezed lemonade tastes SO good!

I’d love to know some of the blessings YOU’re counting today.  Hope you’ll share them with us!

13 thoughts on “Lemonade, Anyone?

  1. Many of the blessings I’m counting today are similar to yours! 🙂
    1.) A faithful and loving husband, who brings me coffee and makes breakfast every day.
    2.) Sunshine pouring through my window this chilly morning in Maine.
    3.) Waking up every morning and realizing I live in the most wonderful place on earth.
    4.) Amazing online friends who feel more like family. 🙂
    5.) Work that I love.
    6.) A sweet purring furbaby who let’s me brush her every day (and only occasionally bats at the comb).
    7.) Pretty fish in the aquarium … and the promise of more coming soon.
    8.) Springtime on the way.
    9.) God’s sweet blessings – too many to count! And some I’ll never even know about.

  2. I feel your pain Malaika! Let’s see, I have so many things to be thankful for that it will be hard to narrow them down:

    1. Healthy family
    2. Awesome husband
    3. Great little girl
    4. Ability to work from home
    5. Summer is coming
    6. So much more…

    I guess the biggest blessing would be that while I’ll always “want” things, I am extremely fortunate that I don’t “need” anything.

    ~ Caren Smith, Owner
    http://www.SewDarnFabulous.com
    http://www.facebook.com/SewDarnFabulous
    http://www.MyScrapbookStudio.net

  3. This is such a wonderful post, and a great idea to focus on the positives! I have too many blessings to choose from, but I’ll list a few here:

    1) The love of my life who makes me coffee in the morning and dinner at night, and always gives me a reason to smile.
    2) My little sister.
    3) My amazing friends who are too awesome for words.
    4) My dream job.
    5) People wanna actually buy the crap I sell on Etsy.
    6) My fantastic blog readers.
    7) My home (With an art room!)
    8) My in-laws. My new adopted family who more than make up for me not having one of my own.
    9) Rob Zombie blaring from my car stereo.
    10) Books I have to struggle to put down…
    11) Spring.

  4. I love this post! We can get through those days BECAUSE of a God who can turn things around for us and that we can give it all away to!

    I am thankful for and so blessed with a very loving daughter who gave me a wonderful grandaughter Chloe, who is 7 months old and who is all smiles all the time. A joy to be with! I am blessed with a wonderful husband who provides everything I need and want and I don’t have to work outside my home. I get to do my Etsy stuff with no pressure to contribute to the budget (for now!). I have a 13 year old son who is a genius and on fire for the Lord and a bunch of spiritual sisters and brothers that are my family.

    What else is there?

    • AnnMarie, my heart is rejoicing with you right now! You’re absolutely right…what else is there! Our God is SO good! And having our children following the Lord is the one blessing that we pray for from their birth…to see that prayer being realized is one of the greatest joys this side of Home!

      Thanks so much for sharing!
      Blessings,
      Malaika.

  5. I’m not sure I have a list, but I bought a canary the other day. A girl canary, who thankfully does not sing, because I don’t like noise! But she bounces around nonstop like a little ray of sunshine, and I find it fairly impossible not to be happy watching that. Too cute.

    Oh, and tea. Always tea. 🙂

    • A new girl-friend for your first feathered friend? Maybe he’ll start paying more attention to her and leave you alone…that could be a blessing, too, right? 🙂

      Enjoy your tea, my dear! I’m off to brew the ‘hubby-coming-home-soon’ pot of coffee. I really enjoy my afternoon cup…

  6. Lovely post. It’s nice to be reminded to stop and look around once in a while, and I know I don’t do it often enough. Like most people, my life revolves around driving here and there, baseball, gymnastics and the school run and it’s so important to stop and smell the roses 🙂

  7. […] everyday life meets Etsy world « Lemonade, Anyone? Mar […]

Leave a Reply

