Epic Fail!

Courtesy of Limyts

O.K., so I was supposed to stay away from the internet yesterday and get some sewing done….um, yeah.  Fail.

But I did get a bunch of exciting things accomplished!  First of all, not sure if you noticed or not, but you’re reading this post on a brand-spankin’-new website, all my own!  May I introduce EtsyinRealLife.com!  (I know it looks the same, but it’s new…really!)

I bit the bullet, pulled out my wallet and bought my own domain name and some web hosting.

Boy, those are words I never thought about saying when I first started my little Etsy shop a year and a half ago!  I’m not even sure I knew what those things even meant back then…

So far, it’s not as scary as one might think.  There are so many tools out there that do a lot of the hard work for you…like translate English into html coding.  Now there’s a second language I might want to start learning…ugh, more homework!

Since I’m just getting started myself, I’m not really in any position yet to give you any pointers or advice, except, if you’ve been putting it off ’cause it looks too scary, go ahead, jump in!  Just remember, as with everything new, be patient with yourself, and give it time.

Oh, and in the process of all this site building I started an EiRL (I kinda like how my site initials sort of spell a name!) Facebook page and Twitter profile (@etsyinreallife).  I hope you’ll come visit!

Today, well, today really is going to be a sewing day.  No excuses this time, I’ve got a sewing buddy coming over to the house…it’s gonna be sew, sew, sew, all day!  I’m hoping to start building my line of neckties…I’ll keep you posted!

12 thoughts on “Epic Fail!

  1. You go girl! LOVE the necktie!

  2. Good for you! Maybe I do need to just jump in also! 🙂

    • Your cards and artwork are so beautiful, Susan!

      If you’ve been thinking about it, give it a try. It’s not terribly expensive, either. I visited this page, http://www.consumer-rankings.com/hosting/ , and compared a bunch of the more popular services to choose the one I thought fit my needs best. I found the information really helpful.

  3. That sounds very exciting! I would be interested in your experiences as you grown with it.

    Wishing you a blessed and happy Easter!

    • Thanks, Elsie! Keep tuning in here and you’re sure to be around as we grow!

      Blessings,
      And happy Easter to you, too!
      Malaika.

  4. I mean grow with it! (Grown would be a improper in this case especially spoken out loud!)

    Groan. 🙂

  5. Congratulations on your own domain! WordPress makes things easy, especially with plugins – even I can use it! 🙂

  6. Just stumbled upon your site via http//www.etsypreneur.com and looks like you are just one step ahead of me when it comes to the whole blogging thing. Love your post about not being afraid and just jumping in and doin it!! I have yet to go for it but I am encouraged by your words.

    • I love the jewelry in your Etsy shop, nice work! I’d love to visit your blog if you’d leave the address. We newbies need to stick together! 🙂

Leave a Reply

