Sew Darn Fabulous!

Happy Monday!  Hope everyone had a great weekend.  It was absolutely gorgeous in my neck of the woods!

And speaking of woods…it’s time for Monday Maine-ia!

This week I want to introduce you to a new and becoming very dear friend of mine, Caren, of Sew Darn Fabulous (you HAVE to go to her shop and check out her banner…it looks JUST LIKE HER!)

Anyway, Caren and I first met this past December when our Etsy Maine Team was having our annual Secret Santa gift swap.  This year I was in charge of collecting all the names and addresses, and when Caren added her information to our list, I saw that she was literally ‘over the river and through the woods’ from my house….o.k., it’s more like a brook than a river, but still…if the trees were cut down, we could see each other’s houses!

So we started talking back and forth and discovered that we’re both stay-at-home moms.  We decided to get together and sew every couple of weeks, kind of a grown-up play date, and we’ve been doing it ever since.  We both really look forward to our time together…it can get pretty quite around the house when kids are at school…or work!

Caren just opened up Sew Darn Fabulous in January and she’s working on a great line of girls dresses with matching doll outfits, but she also makes super fun banners and buntings, as well as adorable hair accessories for little ladies.

Caren’s work is top-notch.  She takes the time to make all of her dresses with french seams instead of using an over-lock machine to finish raw edges.  For those of you who sew, you know the extra time and care french seams take, but the final product is just beautiful!

Not only does she sew, but Caren is a talented scrapbooker.  Her other shop, My Scrapbook Studio, has a fun selection of pre-made albums.

She’s even got one specially designed for Mother’s Day…(hint, hint).

Those dresses Caren makes almost make me wish I had another little girl…almost. 🙂  Maybe she’ll still be making them 10 years from now when I’ve got grandchildren!

Until next time…have a great night!  (See you next week, Caren!)

4 thoughts on “Sew Darn Fabulous!

  1. Great post, awesome how you found out caren lived so close!

  2. So cute! Awesome that you have so many local buddies. Who knew? 🙂

  3. What a fabulous post! Caren’s shops have enchanted me, and it’s such fun thinking about you two meeting up and sewing together!

  4. […] I’m super excited about them!  And I’ll be making more today when I have my “play-date” with my sewing buddy, Caren. […]

Leave a Reply

