Paradox

I got the text early this morning, just as the day was starting to get rolling.

“Just wanted to let you know, Nancy is with Jesus.”

Pause.

Life stops for a moment when we lose a friend.

And then a mix of emotions…
Sorrow knowing we won’t be able to wrap our arms around her again.
Relief that her suffering is finished.
Joy.
Pure joy, knowing she’s finally Home.
And dare I be honest?
Longing…wishing we were Home, too.

And then someone pushes “play” again.

The new chickens lay their first egg,
the walkway waits for its facelift,
the e-mails and texts come.

We’ll put aside some time to celebrate her life together.
In the meantime, we continue to live…for now.

And that’s the paradox of life, really.
Living each day we breathe, to its fullest,
while at the same time, longing,
with every fiber of our souls,
to be Home.

6 thoughts on “Paradox

  1. Oh, I’m very sorry to hear that, but I know what you mean. Home is a good place, both here AND there. I’m content to wait because I still have work to do, but I sure am looking forward to it!

  2. I’m sorry about your friend, Malaika. She lives on through those who knew her, I’m sure.

  3. Sorry to hear about your friend sweetie. Know that my thoughts and prayers are with you as you help her other friends and family thru this sad time. Longing for HOME, but joyful to still have a part to play right here………

  4. Here from Pieces with Amy…this is beautiful writing. From someone else who has recently lost someone I loved, my prayers are with you to find God’s peace and joy even in this.

  5. That was beautiful. I’m so sorry for your loss.

Leave a Reply

