Did Somebody Say Banana Bread?

Peanut Butter Banana Bread

O.K., so maybe nobody said it, but how many of you were thinking about it?  Hmm?  Anybody?  Somebody?

Well, even if you weren’t thinking about it, I was, ’cause I just had some, and it was SO yummy!

Some of you may already know that I’m not big on cooking, baking, dish-washing…basically, anything to do with food besides eating it! But when the occasion calls for it, I’ll do it.  Hey, the family has to eat, right?

This particular occasion is special, though.

Once a month, hubby and I join up with a group of friends to cook breakfast for the families staying at the local Ronald McDonald House, and one person always brings something yummy and fresh-baked.  This month, that person couldn’t make it.  I don’t know, maybe with everything that’s been going on this week, I was feeling soft and warm-hearted…anyway, I volunteered to make the goodies this week.

What was I thinking!?

I dug through my recipes and found one that I thought would do, and, while I was making it, thinking about how delicious it was going to taste, I started thinking about you, dear reader, and how much you might like it, too.  So I’m going to share the recipe.  It’s not my own…I got it from a friend who, I’m pretty sure, got it from a cooking magazine.  Anyway, here’s the recipe.

Peanut Butter Banana Bread

Ingredients
Topping:
1/2 cup flour
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/4 cup creamy peanut butter
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
Batter:
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 pkg (8 oz) cream cheese, softened
1 1/4 cups sugar
2 eggs
1 cup mashed ripe bananas
1 tsp vanilla
2 1/4 cups flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

Directions – preheat oven 350’

In a small bowl, stir the topping ingredients together until crumbly; set aside.

In a large bowl, cream butter , cream cheese, and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in bananas and vanilla. Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda and cinnamon; stir into creamed mixture just until moistened.
Divide half of the batter between two greased 8 x 4 inch loaf pans; sprinkle with half of the topping. Top with chocolate chips. Repeat layers of batter and topping.

Bake for 45-55 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. Cool for 10 minutes before removing from pans to wire racks.

Spreading the second layer of batter over the chocolate chips

In the oven for 45 minutes

Finished! Hey! NomMon, get out of there!

Sorry, don’t mind NomMon, he’s always trying to get his teeth into yummy things.  Just kidding…but he sure is fun to cook with!

So, it’s an hour before dinner and I just had a piece of banana bread.  Bad, I know, but I had to try it out and make sure it tasted good, right?  If you try the recipe, leave a comment and tell me how it turned out.

3 thoughts on “Did Somebody Say Banana Bread?

  1. Mmm…I don’t blame NomMon a bit. Thanks for sharing!

  2. […] Post navigation ← Did Somebody Say Banana Bread? […]

  3. Whaa? Banana bread with peanut butter in it? I’m totally making this tonight!

Leave a Reply

