Fun on the Fourth

Picnics, parades, fireworks…that’s how most folks spend their Independence Day.  Me…I sew.

But today, I sewed for myself.  That counts for relaxation and recreation, right?

With our trip coming up, I’ve been thinking about making a purse to bring with me that’s small enough to comfortably carry around all day, but big enough to hold everything that I just can’t do without.  Plus  I wanted something trendy and summery.

May I introduce…”The Tourister!”

I am SO happy with how this bag came out!  It doesn’t always work out that my first attempt at a new design comes out exactly as I planned.  I usually have a tweak or two that I want to make the ‘next time.’  Not so with this purse; I’m as pleased as can be with it!

There is one thing I’ll do differently next time, and the only reason I didn’t do it this time is that I couldn’t find the right hardware; I’ll probably have to order it.  Anyway, what I would like to do is make the strap so that it’s adjustable.  I designed the purse to be worn cross body, so the strap is just a smidgen too long to be worn as a shoulder bag.  If it were adjustable, it could be worn either way.

I made this purse for myself, but I’ve got more fabric, so I’ve listed the style for sale in my Etsy shop.  Maybe someone will decide they need a new purse for their vacation this summer!  🙂

3 thoughts on “Fun on the Fourth

  1. That is really quite adorable, and useful too! Can’t see who wouldn’t want that! 🙂

  2. Love it – both fabric and bag.

  3. Great design, very cute!

Leave a Reply

