Counting My Blessings

If you’ve been following along, you know that I’ve been away on a mission trip to the Turks and Caicos Islands (if you’re interested, I blogged all about it while we were there).  We got back late Sunday evening, and I have to say, as beautiful as the island was, and wonderful as the people were, it’s good to be home!

I went outside Monday morning to see how the garden had fared while we were away.  Plenty of weeds, to be expected, and TONS of green beans, ready to be picked.  The bowlful in the picture above is from only one of the four rows we have planted!  Then I headed to the chicken coop to say hello to my feathered friends and collect the lovely treasures they leave for me each day.

As I came inside and washed the bounty that I had just gathered from my own backyard, I couldn’t help but think of my friends back on the island.  Providenciales, the island we stayed on, is pretty small.  They have no natural resources, there is no manufacturing, no farmland, no way to raise livestock…everything has to be shipped in.  And everything is expensive.  That bowl full of beans and handful of eggs fresh from my own yard is truly a gift.

Let me tell you, I looked at my dinner plate with a whole new appreciation that night!

11 thoughts on “Counting My Blessings

  1. I agree totally, except for that part about green beans. I just don’t like green beans. But eggs I can get behind! Glad to have you back from Malaika’s Big Adventure! 🙂

  2. Mmmm. Fresh green beans are the best! Thanks for the insight- sometimes we have to be presented with an opportunity to see things out of the normal flow in order to really understand how blessed we are!
    Noelle

  3. Your green beans look so yummy! Like Dorothy said in the Wizard of Oz, “There’s no place like home.”

  4. Nothing like going away to make you appreciate home.

  5. When I lived in apartments for 14 years (many of them in a very populated arid area), I very much longed for the ability to have my own garden – it is such a blessing to be able to have one! But in those days God helped me fill my time with all kinds of handwork, which sometimes now I wish I had more time to do!! 🙂

  6. It is a wonderful gift to have food right out your back door! So glad you had a safe trip…will have to go read your mission blog. 🙂

  7. I know that feeling of finally getting home from a trip….I actually think about it BEFORE I go and can’t wait for it! It does make you appreciate what you have!

  8. That must have been a great experience for you!

  9. It is important to count our blessings! Thanks for the reminder!!

  10. Praise God for a fresh perspective…….

  11. it’s true . . .It’s amazing how differently you look at things when you have seen how little others have! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

